fbpx

No products in the cart.

Home Forums General Discussion Chit Chat Cheap ish tyres

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author

Shane Keat
    Participant

Hi guys,
    I’m not only new to adventure bikes, I’m also new to riding in general.
    I bought a DL650 and I’ve been busy setting it up with crash bars and bash plates and panniers etc but in the mean time i have been looking at what tyres to put on it.
    I’ll be doing a bit of sandy stuff and some rocky stuff for a spot of hunting and fishing, but mostly long distance on the road.
    When i am in the rough stuff i will need a good set of off road tyres though but i don’t want to feel unsafe on the 600-700km trips to get in to those spots.
    I have a Shinko 80/20 on the front but a street tyre on the back so looking for something that’s worth about $200ish to stick on the back that will work well on the road and off.
    I was looking at a MOTOZ tractionactor but what do you guys think is the best value for money?

Muzz67
    Participant

All depends on how ‘off-road’ you intend to go really.
    The rougher the offroad, the more of a compromise you’ll need to make to have something kinda ok at both.
    In dry-ish off road conditions, the Shinko SR244 is fine. Not ideal for deep mud, but decent enough on-road, rocky or riverbed etc. Pretty cheap too, and seem to last ok.
    If you need more aggressive offroad, the Tractionater may not be great for the other 6-700km…

Shane Keat
    Participant

Thank you so much, i have noone to ask, i have no mates who do this and don’t trust the guys at the bike shop cause they just put me to the most expensive tyre.

whiZZard
    Participant