fbpx

Adventure Riding NZ

New Zealand's Adventure Riding community, free GPS track downloads, forums, and more!

Cheap ish tyres

Home Forums General Discussion Chit Chat Cheap ish tyres

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    Shane Keat
    Participant

Hi guys,
    I’m not only new to adventure bikes, I’m also new to riding in general.
    I bought a DL650 and I’ve been busy setting it up with crash bars and bash plates and panniers etc but in the mean time i have been looking at what tyres to put on it.
    I’ll be doing a bit of sandy stuff and some rocky stuff for a spot of hunting and fishing, but mostly long distance on the road.
    When i am in the rough stuff i will need a good set of off road tyres though but i don’t want to feel unsafe on the 600-700km trips to get in to those spots.
    I have a Shinko 80/20 on the front but a street tyre on the back so looking for something that’s worth about $200ish to stick on the back that will work well on the road and off.
    I was looking at a MOTOZ tractionactor but what do you guys think is the best value for money?

Muzz67
    Participant
    • Town/City: Richmond

All depends on how ‘off-road’ you intend to go really.
    The rougher the offroad, the more of a compromise you’ll need to make to have something kinda ok at both.
    In dry-ish off road conditions, the Shinko SR244 is fine. Not ideal for deep mud, but decent enough on-road, rocky or riverbed etc. Pretty cheap too, and seem to last ok.
    If you need more aggressive offroad, the Tractionater may not be great for the other 6-700km…

Shane Keat
    Participant

Thank you so much, i have noone to ask, i have no mates who do this and don’t trust the guys at the bike shop cause they just put me to the most expensive tyre.

whiZZard
    Participant
    • Town/City: Auckland
    • Bike: DRZ400