No products in the cart.

Home Forums General Discussion Buy and Sell Where to get a KLR in Wellington?

This topic contains 5 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Roanoke 3 weeks ago.

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

Roanoke
    Participant

Hi,
    I’m new to NZ. Actually I’m not even there yet. But I might be in a few weeks.
    I will need a new ride for touring the country.
    Naturally a KLR is the obvious choice.
    I’ve had an 08 before and then an F650GS (800cc).

So my question is, where do I get one?
    I’d really rather not buy a new one since I don’t know if I’ll be here for longer than a year.
    Plus I’m planning on doing gravel and dirt roads which would probably wear it in quite heavily. Personally I wouldn’t mind but since I might put up to 10k km on it in a year I would imagine the depreciation would be significant.

I have looked around a bit online but haven’t seen any used KLR’s around Wellington at all actually.

Does anyone have any recommendations where to look?

OldBeer
    Participant
    • Bike: DL650, DRZ250, DRZ400S,

A few on Trademe.

https://www.trademe.co.nz/Browse/SearchResults.aspx?sort_order=price_asc&cid=1255&searchType=&searchString=klr650&x=0&y=0&type=Search&redirectFromAll=False&rptpath=1-&user_region=100&user_district=0&generalSearch_keypresses=6&generalSearch_suggested=0&generalSearch_suggestedCategory=&rsqid=044f0cd032614c7790cf84ce2bb189c0

Green one in Rangiora looks good. Lots of other bike options.

I don’t know where you are from but NZ is not a big place. Its pretty easy to get to Canterbury to have a look at a bike and if you like it, ride it back up. Two days max, no big deal. Or get it delivered to Welly for around $500, probably less. You can ride from Auckland to Welly in a day (if you are keen). You cant buy through trademe until you get here, so why not wait and see whats out there.

Not too many actual dirt roads here but lots of nice gravel.

Good luck.

Roanoke